Sugar Cookies

I can’t help it, I love to bake. Call me domesticated, call me girly, but it makes me so happy to bake, especially for other people.

This Easter, I decided to bake every treat that I put in the Easter baskets for my family. I’m making several different things (mostly chocolate candies), but one thing that seems to go over well, no matter the holiday, are my sugar cookies.

I’m not sure where I found this recipe, but it’s very simple, and I’ve been able to perfect it by playing with both the amount of sugar and the temperature of my oven so that the cookies remain soft for a few days. These cookies are very Paula Deen-ish, because they call for a a full cup of butter vs. other recipes that typically just call for 1/2 cup of butter. I think that’s what makes all the difference.

These are really simple to make, and I encourage you to try them…good luck keeping any nearby, because they disappear quickly! I’m hiding them from my husband so they’ll actually stay around until Sunday…

Simple Sugar Cookies

Dry Ingredients:

2 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

Wet Ingredients:

1 c. butter (I use 2 margarine sticks)

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a small bowl, stir together the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, and baking powder.) Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. It’s easiest to use a mixer for this, and ensure that the mixture is creamed well. Add egg and vanilla. Slowly blend in the dry ingredients. Roll dough into small balls, and place onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

3. Pat the top of the cookies down slightly with the bottom of a teaspoon, and then add sprinkles or sugar crystals if desired.

4. Bake 8-10 minutes in preheated oven (I bake for 9 minutes, 25 seconds), or until the cookies are a golden color. Let the cookies stand on cookie sheets for 2-3 minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Leave me a comment if you have any questions…I’d love to know if you try them!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

